Skip to main content
Software to boost your productivity Deskshare
Download
Support Forum

Ask questions and find solutions to common problems.


Technical Support

Your complete reference to product technical support.


Lost License Key

Retrieve your purchase history using our automated system.

Articles

Read expert insights on how to get the most out of our software.


Video Tutorials and Manuals

Learn new features and functions with our easy to follow videos and guides.

Contact Us

Your direct line to chat with us.


About Deskshare

Discover our story and values

My Account Log In
Log In
    Deskshare Support Forum
    • Recent
    • Popular
    • Login

    File getting overwritten while downloading from server on schedule

    Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Auto FTP Manager
    2 Posts 2 Posters 2.9k Views
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • B
      bobhuge
      last edited by

      Hi. I'm very new to the product. I have created a schedule for downloading a file from my server. I want to download the file to a destination folder, but I also want to have older versions of the file remain in the folder.
      Any thoughts on this?

      1 Reply Last reply
      Reply Quote
      • D
        DeskShare_-_Support
        last edited by

        You can have all the versions of your file preserved in the destination, you just need to rename your files while downloading. Auto FTP Manager makes this easy using conflict resolutions.

        If you have already created an automated transfer profile then select your profile from the 'Profile List' and click on the 'Edit Profile' icon on the toolbar.

        Next, go to the 'Specify Automated Transfer Settings' page.

        Under the 'Conflict Resolution' section, change the 'Overwrite Always' option to 'Append date and time' in the dropdown control.

        When the schedule launches, the file will be downloaded and it will be renamed with the current date and time. So you can keep all the versions of your file in the destination folder.

        1 Reply Last reply
        Reply Quote

        Hello! It looks like you're interested in this conversation, but you're not signed in.

        Sign in with your Deskshare account to ask a question, reply, and get an email when someone answers. You will come back to exactly where you left off.

        With your input, this post could be even better 💗

        Register Login
        • 1 / 1
        • First post
          Last post